Faculty

Israel Abramov

Campus Website | contact: IAbramov@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Jennifer Basil

Campus Website | contact: jbasil@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Christopher Braun

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: cbraun@hunter.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Hunter College

peopleimg

Elisabeth Brauner

Campus Website | contact: EBrauner@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Patricia Brooks

Accepting Ph.D. Applications for Fall 2019

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: patricia.brooks@csi.cuny.edu

Full Professor | College of Staten Island

language development, media literacy, impact of technology on cognitive development, scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL), second language acquisition

peopleimg

Benzion Chanowitz

Campus Website | contact: BenzionC@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Associate Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Sheila Chase

Campus Website | contact: schase@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Martin Chodorow

Campus Website | contact: martin.chodorow@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

proofreading, implicit memory, computational linguistics

peopleimg

Elizabeth Chua

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: echua@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Associate Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Matthew Crump

Accepting Ph.D. Applications for Fall 2019

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: MCrump@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Associate Professor | Brooklyn College

Computational Modeling, Learning, Memory, Attention, Performance

The Crump lab uses computional and behavioral methods in cognition to investigate principles of pattern learning and pattern production. Research interests included learning, memory, attention, and performance, as well as sequence production in language and music.

peopleimg

Andrew Delamater

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: AndrewD@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Jennifer Drake

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: JDrake@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Assistant Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Matthew Erdelyi

Campus Website | contact: Erdelyi@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Emeritus Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Paul Feinstein

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: feinstein@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu

Associate Professor | Hunter College

peopleimg

Yu Gao

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: yugao@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Associate Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Stefano Ghirlanda

Accepting Ph.D. Applications for Fall 2019

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: sghirlanda@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Brooklyn College

computational modeling, associative learning, motivation, cultural evolution

peopleimg

James Gordon

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: jgordon@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Frank Grasso

Campus Website | contact: FGrasso@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Associate Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Louise Hainline

Campus Website | contact: LouiseH@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Curtis Hardin

Campus Website | contact: cdhardin@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Cheryl Harding

Campus Website | contact: harding@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Nancy Hemmes

Campus Website | contact: nancy.hemmes@qc.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Queen’s College

peopleimg

Jon Horvitz

Campus Website | contact: jon.horvitz.ccny@gmail.com

City College

peopleimg

Natalie Kacinik

Accepting Ph.D. Applications for Fall 2019

Campus Website | contact: NKacinik@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Associate Professor | Brooklyn College

Psycholinguistics, Cognitive Neuroscience, Embodied Cognition, Semantics, Figurative Language, Pragmatics

peopleimg

Lana Karasik

Campus Website | contact: lana.karasik@csi.cuny.edu

College of Staten Island

peopleimg

Aaron Kozbelt

Campus Website | contact: AaronK@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Full Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Daniel Kurylo

Campus Website | contact: DKurylo@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Associate Professor | Brooklyn College

visual perception, perceptual organization

peopleimg

David Lahti

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: david.lahti@qc.cuny.edu

Queen’s College

peopleimg

Jonathan Levitt

Campus Website | contact: jlevitt@ccny.cuny.edu

City College

peopleimg

Victoria Luine

Campus Website | contact: vluine@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Jennifer Mangels

Accepting Ph.D. Applications for Fall 2019

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: jenimangels@gmail.com

Full Professor | Baruch College

Memory, Attention, Decision-Making

peopleimg

Dan McCloskey

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: dan.mccloskey@csi.cuny.edu

College of Staten Island

peopleimg

Laraine McDonough

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: LaraineM@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Associate Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Robert Melara

Campus Website | contact: rmelara@ccny.cuny.edu

City College

peopleimg

Regina Miranda

Campus Website | contact: regina.miranda@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Peter Moller

Campus Website | contact: pmoller@hunter.cuny.edu

College of Staten Island

peopleimg

Bertram Ploog

Campus Website | contact: Bertram.Ploog@csi.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Joshua Plotnik

Accepting Ph.D. Applications for Fall 2019

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: joshua.plotnik@hunter.cuny.edu

Assistant Professor | Hunter College

peopleimg

Sandeep Prasada

Campus Website | contact: sandeep.prasada@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Thomas Preuss

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: tpreuss@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Carolyn Pytte

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: carolyn.pytte@qc.cuny.edu

Queen’s College

peopleimg

Robert Ranaldi

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: Robert.Ranaldi@qc.cuny.edu

Queen’s College

peopleimg

Diana Reiss

Campus Website | contact: diana.reiss@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Timothy Ricker

Accepting Ph.D. Applications for Fall 2019

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: Timothy.Ricker@csi.cuny.edu

Assistant Professor | College of Staten Island

Working Memory, Multi-Tasking, Attention, Consolidation

The Memory & Attention Lab at CUNY investigates how information within the working memory system is maintained and forgotten. We use behavioral experimentation, mathematical process modeling, and Bayesian estimation in support of this goal. More specific areas of investigation include the effects of time, multi-tasking, and complexity on short-term retention.

peopleimg

Robert Rockwell

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: rfr@amnh.org

City College

peopleimg

Irina Sekerina

Accepting Ph.D. Applications for Fall 2019

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: Irina.Sekerina@csi.cuny.edu

College of Staten Island

bilingualism, Russian, heritage languages, eye-tracking, language acquisition, psycholinguistics

peopleimg

Peter Serrano

Campus Website | contact: pserran@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Jacob Shane

Campus Website | contact: JShane@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Assistant Professor | Brooklyn College

peopleimg

Justin Storbeck

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: justin.storbeck@qc.cuny.edu

Queen’s College

peopleimg

Vivien Tartter

Campus Website | contact: vivienct@gmail.com

Hunter College

peopleimg

Ofer Tchernichowski

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: otcherni@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Virginia Valian

Accepting Ph.D. Applications for Fall 2019

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: VValian@gc.cuny.edu

Distinguished Professor | Hunter College

child language, bilingualism, gender

peopleimg

Mariaan Weierich

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: mariann.weierich@hunter.cuny.edu

Hunter College

peopleimg

Steven Young

Lab Website | Campus Website | contact: Steven.Young@baruch.cuny.edu

Baruch College

peopleimg

Students

First Last EntryYear Advisor Website ResearchInterests Area
Nicole Amada Fall 2017 Shane NA NA CLD
Nicholaus Brosowsky Fall 2014 Crump NA NA CLD
Kelly Cotton Fall 2018 Ricker https://sites.google.com/site/kelmcotton/home NA CCP
Taylan Ergun Fall 2016 Abramov NA NA CLD
Emilia Ezrina Fall 2016 Valian NA NA CLD
Katherine Papazian Fall 2017 Drake NA NA CLD
Olga Parshina Fall 2015 Sekerina NA NA CLD
Qihui Xu Fall 2017 Valian/Chodorow NA NA CLD